SCS WEDNESDAY WIRE | January 13, 2021

[A weekly update from the SCS Dean's Office]

With the arrival of the new year, SCS WEDNESDAY WIRE replaces SCS TODAY as I plan to share updates weekly, each Wednesday, and as needed.

IN MEMORIAM

— I want to share with the SCS community the news that <u>Edmund M. Clarke</u>, <u>University Professor Emeritus</u> and co-recipient of the 2007 Turing Award, died on December 22. For those interested, the family directs contributions to the <u>Edmund and Martha Clarke Endowed Graduate Fellowship</u> in the School of Computer Science or the <u>Mt. Lebanon United Methodist Church Food Pantry</u>.

— Sadly, Phyllis Pomerantz also passed away on December 22. Phyllis was universally beloved as she worked for nearly 30 years at CMU in the Computer Science Department and Robotics Institute, among other assignments. A memorial service will be held when COVID-19 restrictions are lifted. For those interested, contributions may be made to the Jewish Association on Aging. Designate donations in memory of Phyllis to the Arbor Unit Art & Music Program.

SCS NEWS

— SCS faculty members <u>Manuel Blum and Jodi Forlizzi are among 95 distinguished computer scientists</u> <u>named 2020 fellows by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)</u>. The <u>ACM Fellows</u> program recognizes the top 1% of the association's membership for outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community.

— Many websites offer users choices to opt out of some of their data collection and use practices. Recent work from CyLab researchers has shown that machine learning techniques can automatically extract and classify some of these opt-out choices. The study also introduces Opt-Out Easy, a browser plug-in (available for free download) that automatically extracts opt-out choices from privacy policies and presents them to users in a way that's easy to use.

— <u>A team led by the HCII is one of 10 semifinalists</u> in the U.S. Department of Transportation's <u>Inclusive</u> <u>Design Challenge</u>, which seeks to make self-driving vehicles more accessible to people with disabilities.

— <u>Congratulations to Abhinav Gupta, associate professor in the Robotics Institute, winner</u> of the 2020 <u>J.K.</u> <u>Aggarwal Prize</u> which is presented every two years by the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) to a scientist under 40 who has had a major impact on computer vision, pattern recognition and image processing. IAPR is honoring Gupta "for pioneering contributions to unsupervised and self-supervised learning in computer vision and robotics."

— Takeo Kanade, U.A. and Helen Whitaker University Professor in the Robotics Institute and Computer Science Department, was <u>elected last month as a member of the Japan Academy</u>, an organization that recognizes researchers with the most distinguished records of academic and scientific achievement. Earlier last year, <u>Kanade was named a Person of Cultural Merit</u> in Japan in recognition of his original research in facial image recognition technology and autonomous driving.

BE SMART | STAY SAFE | WEAR A MASK | PLEASE!

Until next week,

---- Martial

SCS NEWS | SCS EVENTS

All of us share <u>A Tartan's Responsibility</u> and as members of the CMU community we must do our part to prevent the spread of COVID-19. If you plan to come to campus, you must complete the <u>CMU Self-</u> <u>Assessment Survey</u>. Even if you're not coming to campus, CMU Community Health & Well-Being strongly encourages daily completion of the survey.

REMEMBER YOUR RESOURCES

CMU Coronavirus <u>Updates & Information</u> and <u>FAQ</u> | CMU <u>Health Services</u>, 412-268-2157 <u>SCS Alerts & Resources</u> | <u>For Students</u> | <u>For Staff</u> | <u>For Faculty</u> | <u>For Researchers</u> Connect with a <u>Dean's Advisory Committee</u> if you have questions or concerns you want to share.